Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (1)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. Each week, you get to shine the spotlight on an upcoming release that you really want to read.

This is the first time that I've participated in Waiting on Wednesday, and I'm sure it won't be the last. It seems like a fun opportunity to share some of the books that I am dying to read, and believe me, there are plenty of them.



Today, my focus will be on an upcoming release by the lovely Lauren Oliver. As you keep reading my blog, you'll come to learn that I am a huge Lauren Oliver fan. I have been since I won Before I Fall on Goodreads. I really just love her writing style.

I was ecstatic when I found out that she was releasing an adult novel. Yes, I'm a YA fan, but I do like to read books aimed at adults, too. After all, I am an adult.

So why do I need to get my hands on this? Well, it's Lauren Oliver. First of all, I haven't read anything by her that I haven't liked.  Secondly, it's adult fiction and fantasy. I've noticed that I've been liking fantasy, so it's definitely worth a try. And lastly, it seems like the perfect book to read as the seasons begin to change and Halloween approaches.

Without further ado, here's this week's Waiting on Wednesday.


Expected Publication: September 23, 2014

Genre: Adult Fantasy

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.



 I'd like to know what you're waiting on. Leave a comment here with a link to your "Waiting on Wednesday." I'll be sure to check it out. I can always add more books to my library.

If you participate, be sure to visit Breaking the Spine, and let them know you're participating by adding your name and blog URL to the Linky.

6 comments :

  1. I love Lauren Oliver's books! And, at first, I was really iffy about whether I wanted to read this book or not. I love Lauren Oliver and this book sounds so interesting, but it's an adult book...
    I rarely ever venture out into the world of adult books, firmly staying in the land of YA, and at first that scared me. But I am back to being excited about this book because I need to get off the land of YA at some point and this seems like a great place to start!
    Anyway, sorry about the rambling! I am looking forward to this book, too!

    Here's my WoW

    ReplyDelete
  2. Jessica - Psh. Never worry about rambling. I'm such a rambler, especially when I get really excited. I know what you mean. I used to read strictly adult books as a kid, and then I took a YA class in college and starting reading pretty much all YA. I'm trying to read a mix of the two now.

    But I am really excited for this book. I keep hoping that there will be a giveaway up on Goodreads soon or I'll somehow stumble upon an ARC, but it looks like I'll be waiting until September.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love Lauren Oliver and can't wait to see what this book has to offer! Great pick :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Awesome pick! I haven't heard of this one yet. I have to go check it out!

    Come check out my blog and maybe even hit the follow button? It'd be greatly appreciated! http://bundles-of-books.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  5. I read Delirium and didn't really liked it...so I'll probably won't give this one a go :)

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.